From There… To Here

The social history of Wester Hailes

The history of SCOREscotland

SCOREscotland have contributed an article that looks at their history and summarises the development of equal opportunities and race equalities work in Wester Hailes. They also asked a young person who was recently on a work placement with them to comment on growing up in Wester Hailes today.

SCOREscotland

Where did it come from?

Strengthening Communities for Race Equality Scotland – SCOREscotland is a    voluntary organisation working in the West of Edinburgh. SCOREscotland evolved from three akin organisations over the years. They all had a similar vision: Equal Opportunities and Race Equality.

Community Relations Forum 1992

Community Relations Forum 1992

The first of the three organisations was Wester Hailes Against Racism Project which was introduced in 1995 by the Wester Hailes Community Relations Project. Unfortunately, due to different reasons including funding cuts, Wester Hailes Against Racism Project was closed down.

Subsequently, a similar project – Wester Hailes Multicultural Welfare Project – was set up by The Wester Hailes Representative Council to cater for the minority ethnic communities in the West of Edinburgh.  In time, however, the target BME communities wanted their project to become an independent organisation designed to address their needs.

Thus the West Edinburgh Multicultural Organisation (WEMO) was developed in 2003. It became an independent organisation managed and run by local minority ethnic people.  WEMO was registered as a charity and company limited by guarantee in October 2004.SCOREscotland presentation

However, following a deep and wide organisational review in 2007, the organisation was re-launched on the 9th of November 2007 as Strengthening Communities for Race Equality Scotland – SCOREscotland.

SCOREscotland’s mission is: Social justice and race equality in a society proud of its diversity.

SCOREscotland’s Mission and purpose for existence is to:

Work in partnership with others to address the causes and effects of racism and to promote race equality. The organisation breaks down barriers to the full participation of minority ethnic communities in all aspects of civic life, including:

  • Equality of access to public services and information
  • Ability to contribute to and influence policy development and service delivery
  • Freely participating in social, political cultural, and economic life
  • Feeling valued and integrated as part of society

SCOREscotland offers:

  • 1 to 1 support and advocacy – on racial abuse/ discrimination/ harassment, welfare benefits, health, education, basic immigration, housing and employment.
  • Youth work – anti-racist youth work with children and young people aged 8-18yrs.
  • Group work – providing opportunities for adults to come together for peer support, raising awareness, meeting new people in the area, promoting social inclusion.
  • Community Engagement – partnership working with communities, other service providers and organisations to make sure the needs of BME people are addressed.
  • Programme of Events and Activities – bringing together people from diverse communities in a safe environment to engender, integration and social cohesion.

 SCOREscotland welcomes all people including those with protected characteristics: age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex and sexual orientation.

  Kid growing up in Wester Hailes

 “From the age of 8 or 9, don’t really know, I spent my Fridays and Saturdays at SCOREscotland – Knots & Crosses Youth Club – so named by us and popularly known as ‘KCYC’ – doing what kids do really. I remember taking part in a dance class where the club had called in a dance instructor to teach us a few dance moves. Funny stuff! My dance skills then were awful but who cares, it was really fun. We also had days of just chilling and watching films, while munching on yummy snacks (I do like my snacks). I loved it! There was never a dull moment…actually I can’t really say never…there were days where we had to talk about topics like littering and bullying. At that age I found that really boring, I was more interested in doing the fun things. But now at the age of 14 I really believe bullying is an important issue. Bullying is an issue which has caused a large number of teenagers to commit suicide. Those stories are shocking! Obviously the bullies didn’t know it was affecting the people that much but if people are told about what bullying does they might not do it. Thankfully I haven’t been bullied myself but I know people who have. This might have been the cause of why bullying is important to me. So think about it, whenever you want to make fun of the boy who doesn’t have any friends, think twice!

I like fashion, I like make up, I like One Direction, I like going to the cinema, I like my neighbours and they are friendly, I want to make where I stay a better place to live because it’s MY neighbourhood, Oh and I forgot to mention I’m African, Female and a Muslim but that shouldn’t matter should it? My message – I’m like everyone else so don’t treat me differently.”

R (aged 14) – Work Experience Student at SCOREscotland

SCOREscotland is on Facebook: for their page just click here.

Comments are closed.