From There… To Here

The social history of Wester Hailes

Gala Queen 1983

Anne Arthur (Hutchison) got in touch with us to share her memories of being the Gala Queen in 1983. 

“It was amazing being the Gala Queen 1983.  My day was filled with excitement and joy.

 I was picked up in a white Limousine car and driven around Clovenstone and then down to Wester Hailes.

 I saw “Disco Lil” and had a lunch with an M.P Malcolm Rifkind.

 I travelled on the roof of a fire-engine to the W.H.E.C where I gave a speech.

 A tree was planted at St John Ogilvies church and soon after it was taken by someone.

 That day was really special to me.”

 You can see the pictures of Anne and all the princesses by clicking here on Wester Hailes Festival 1983.

 If you have a memory you’d like to share, just get in touch!

Comments are closed.